A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

The only one

leave a comment »

How could I know – could there be
a lovely heart that knows not how
much love and care inside me lives
for her this very day?

A fleeting glimpse, a hug and kiss
discounted as a passing phase
when deep in me foundations tear,
I’m lost inside an endless maze.

Not once I’d known a woman thus,
who be my friend and confidant.
Who makes me think and question why
of her I seem to make a fuss.

She knows not what I deeply know.
She is the only one,
the air that fills my lungs each day
the heat from morning sun.

Awoken from a dreamers dream
I stumble through my life.
Will wait much more than 30 years
for Fin to be my wife.

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

March 22, 2011 at 2:37 PM

Posted in Poetry

Tagged with , ,

Leave a comment