A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

Distance

leave a comment »

Blue skies, black,
grey and cloudy every day.
You’re here no more,
but with me still.
You packed your things,
you moved away and yet,
you move me every day.

You’re not just in my memory,
but here in music and in Glee.
My work gets done,
my art moves on.
As far as love…
my heart knows none
till you return to me one day.

I’ll see you soon.
I’ll travel far ‘cross seas of green
to Irish isle I’ve never seen.
The time must pass so quickly quick
that blinking twice will make it be.

Our tale of love and sacrifice
one day be told to little eyes.
At bedtime we’ll be called to bed
to once again recall the tale
of how our wedding came to be.

I yearn to touch your hands and face,
to leave this pale and lonely home
and make a home with you my friend.
But sacrifice will be our friend
till we’re together in the end.
Till day you ask to marry me.

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

July 19, 2011 at 8:45 AM

Posted in Poetry

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

