A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

In Love

with 4 comments

I am in love.

A glorious disease,
wonderous affliction,
a cool evening breeze.

She is perfection.

Exceedingly rare,
a jewel of a woman
with wild Irish hair.

I am addicted.

She haunts my thoughts.
My mind is in turmoil,
engagement ring bought.

She isn’t ready.

Her heart has to heal,
ring finger not empty.
I cannot steal.

She’ll haunt me forever when I stay behind.
My work and my travels will quiet my mind.
I’ll fly and go see her, now and again.
I hope she’ll stay true and not need other men.

If she finds another, then single I’ll stay.
Will work, be successful till very last day.
I’ll never be happy, a grumpy old man.
Till she comes to find me,
…or I go to take her,
one day we will be together forever
I’ll live,
breathe,
hope.

An unfulfilled man.

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

July 5, 2011 at 8:33 AM

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Another one greatly penned! That old chestnut, eh? I adored this verse:

    “Her heart has to heal,
    ring finger not empty.
    I cannot steal.”

    I’ve never had thieving inclinations in any other form than for love.

    Helena (Hey! Lena)

    July 6, 2011 at 8:37 PM

    • Oh it’s a conundrum of epic proportions that I face.
      The young lady is still married, has a heart of gold,
      doesn’t want to cheat on her husband any more than
      I do on my wife, but we are both separating and we have
      found something incredible in each other.

      I hope to God this works out and I can be with her
      till my days’ end.

      lonelyyorkshireman

      July 7, 2011 at 9:55 AM

  2. love…..

    A glorious disease…
    I do fallin love with that part!
    what a romantic line! 🙂

    mpucukilalang

    July 7, 2011 at 5:58 AM

    • Love disables a person as much as any disease.
      I find it hard to work, concentrate or focus on my daily
      chores while thinking of her, which I do constantly.

      lonelyyorkshireman

      July 7, 2011 at 9:56 AM


Leave a Reply

