A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

In the Final Week

with 10 comments

Time has gone so fast my friend.
We have a week till journey ends
and new one sees the light of day.

You’re set to leave on Sunday dawn.
Not far away but out of reach,
to sun your lovely skin on’t beach.

A day away from you is hell,
but for the better you will go.
I think you love me… no… I know.

You are my everything you see,
my night and day, the soul in me.
I yearn for you eternally.

Please go my friend and heal your heart.
I guess that in the time apart we’ll see
if we are meant to be.

For me it’s over, deal is done.
There cannot ever be anyone
but you in me as I have seen
what love can be.

I’ll work,
I’ll strive to have success.
I’ll love my boy,
I’ll have him blessed.
I’ll tell him of my love for you.

He’ll understand
cause he is me.
He’ll love our children
that may be.
He’ll see my love
for you is true.

Above all…
He will love you
as I do.

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

July 4, 2011 at 9:50 AM

Posted in Poetry

Tagged with , ,

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A tale of love and separation so nicely told that it touches the heart:))

    Sajeevs blog

    July 4, 2011 at 2:42 PM

  2. This is beautiful. It makes my heart weep and rejoice at the same time. I hope to find the strength and courage in myself to love without unconditionally like you express it so well. Best of thoughts and thanks so much for sharing your wonderful work.

    graasky

    July 4, 2011 at 9:10 PM

  3. Ahhhhhh…this is lovely. I adored ‘skin on’t beach’. Makes the poem feel really from the heart….!

    Helena (Hey! Lena)

    July 4, 2011 at 9:31 PM

    • Haha… the ‘skin on’t beach’ bit is a light stab at the local Yorkshire accent.
      My fair love does also need a bit of sun on her skin as she’s Irish.
      She says she doesn’t tan though, only gets more freckles.
      I do love, no I adore her freckles.

      lonelyyorkshireman

      July 7, 2011 at 9:58 AM

  4. beautiful…
    thanks for sharing.

    Jingle

    July 4, 2011 at 9:51 PM

  5. Definitely tugged at the heartstrings.

    Simply beautiful.

    Andy

    July 8, 2011 at 4:56 AM

  6. you are amazing poet.
    keep it up.

    hope all is well.
    do come and share your poetry talent with us today.

    Poets Rally

    September 24, 2011 at 2:19 AM


Leave a Reply

