A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

Only you

with 2 comments

I love you for your mind,
wicked as it be.
I love you for your eyes,
green as the Irish sea.
I love you more each day,
my heart fills up with glee.

You wonder if I do
love you for ever true.
You wonder if I will
wait years & years for you.
You wonder if I’ll wait
if no one else will do.

Believe me when I say
you are my dearest love.
Believe me when I show,
you’re more than just enough.
Believe me when I swear
to Holy God above…

I love…
I adore…
I want only you.

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

June 14, 2011 at 1:56 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great poem! You truly have a gift with words… Published yet?

    Miki

    June 21, 2011 at 7:13 PM

    • Hi Miki,

      Thank you!

      Published? Oh no, I don’t write poetry professionally.
      I’m writing this because I am living it. The woman I
      love will be moving away soon and it’s tearing a
      hole in me. I love her so much, but we need to be on
      our own for a while.

      Maybe one day I will publish my poems, when I am
      happily married to the woman I love.

      😉
      L.Y.

      lonelyyorkshireman

      June 22, 2011 at 3:27 PM


Leave a Reply

