A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

Inner turmoil

with 5 comments

“Good morning!” I say in a voice filled with glee.
“Good morning, how are you?” you say to me.

Those words cut to bone as I freeze where I stand.
A second goes by as I dream of a life filled with laughter,
her beautiful face, a passionate kiss, an honest embrace.
Does she live in my town or in far-away land?

The morning so pleasant a moment ago
turns painful and grey when I know
that inside me I’m climbing the walls,
I’m screaming and lonely and loosing myself.

No fame, or respect, or inordinate wealth
can placate the insanity raging in me.
From outside I am happy, a picture of health
with a wife and a son – my family.

“How are you?” a sentence so easily said.
How am I?
I’m lonely.
Messed up in the head.

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

May 6, 2011 at 2:45 PM

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is very pretty. I guess I’m just not of the mind that one person could ever bring panacea because life is still, well, life. I hope you find what you seek. Good luck.

    Unga Bunga Girl

    May 7, 2011 at 1:05 AM

    • Let me clarify. What I meant was more insidious than multiple soul mates. Sometimes we live too long for love to last.

      http://www.poetry-archive.com/y/he_wishes_his_beloved_were_dead.html

      I definitely believe in a single soul mate though but I’m going to need projects over those forty years with him so I don’t end up shooting him. Cheers! I think I might be more of a nutter than you. πŸ™‚

      Unga Bunga Girl

      May 9, 2011 at 9:35 PM

      • OMG!
        I thought I had issues…. W B Yeats beats me hands down.

        I haven’t wished the old lady dead yet… give me some credit.
        All I want is the freedom to be with a woman that truly loves me.
        Oh well. 😦

        lonelyyorkshireman

        May 10, 2011 at 8:22 AM

  2. Awwww 😦 I liked it. It fits me well, specially the morning so pleasant part and the last part.

    gaztopian

    May 8, 2011 at 8:20 PM

  3. @Unga Bunga Girl: More than one soul mate? I’d have to give up on the idea of marriage if I was to give my heart to more than one person at a time. It’s an interesting concept, though not one that my overly romantic nature could comprehend. πŸ˜‰

    @gaztopian: Thanks. It sucks living it though.

    lonelyyorkshireman

    May 9, 2011 at 11:47 AM


Leave a Reply

