A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

The One

with one comment

Are we genetically designed to go out in life trying to find that one single person to love, that soul mate, the one human being on this planet that makes us feel whole, no matter how many flaws that person has?

Or are we taught by our parents, the media, fairy tales and bedtime stories that we are destined to find our one true love?

The last thing I would call myself is a saint, as I have had my fair share of failed relationships and I am currently heading straight for my second divorce… so I don’t know if I have more, or less of a right to answer that question.

I do know one thing though: at night, in bed, in the last few moments before I go to sleep I always imagine the feeling of holding that one love of mine in my arms. I can feel her hair against my face, her body pressed against mine and the sweet smell of her skin. In my mind’s eye I can see us walking in the sunshine, holding hands, lying on a blanket in the sun and talking, gently stroking each other’s hands and arms… just happy to be together.

They say that you know you have found the right person when you can be with that person – not talking or doing anything in particular – for quite a while and you feel completely happy and at ease.

My soul mate haunts my thoughts, but alas I cannot see her face in my mind’s eye. I have had this experience many times over the course of the last 15 years. It drives me, and gives me hope.

She might be far, far away in a foreign land or I might already know her and see her every day. Until the day I lay my head on a pillow, hold her in my arms and smell her skin I will not know who she is.

Until that day, I am not whole.

I hope to find her soon, being more careful not to break any more hearts (or go through any more divorces).

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

April 19, 2011 at 2:52 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with you. There must be someone special out there for each person. I think I might have already found mine, so I hope you find yours soon too.

    kiwikar

    April 26, 2011 at 5:46 AM


Leave a Reply

