A Lonely Yorkshireman

The contradicting ramblings of a sodding old fool

A spell cast carelessly

with 9 comments

You cast a spell on my heart.
I cannot resist.

You give me your love,
you make me dream
of a future together
but then with a word
expressed without feeling,
take hold of my soul
and tear me apart.

You say that you love me… but
you find it so easy
to follow your head,
pack up and leave me,
a man left for dead,
empty hole for a heart.

So how could you love me?
How could you say that
you want to be with me,
your very next breath
utter words with no feeling,
no love, no longing, deceiving
my mind into wanting some meaning.

With a smile on your face
and a flowery voice
you shatter my world,
give me no choice
but to change who I am.

From loving, cheerful, romantic man
to a hard, hateful beast of a thing,
a man-eating dragon
recoiled in a cave
as it tends to a wound
and kills all who invade.

You cast a curse on my heart.

Written by lonelyyorkshireman

March 28, 2011 at 9:10 AM

Posted in Poetry

Tagged with , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, that’s great stuff. I really like your poetry.

    Unga Bunga Girl

    March 28, 2011 at 11:15 PM

  2. […] A Lonely Yorkshireman – since he likes to be sodding and alone, he may not go for this but maybe he will get checked out from this post. He writes great poetry. I really like A spell cast carelessly. […]

    • Thank you so much for the award. I can’t say I am or like being alone, as I am married – but to the wrong woman.

      lonelyyorkshireman

      April 2, 2011 at 9:06 AM

      • Your welcome. That’s funny. I didn’t mean to misrepresent. I just got that vibe from your blog name and tag line. Good luck with the other.

        Unga Bunga Girl

        April 2, 2011 at 1:10 PM

      • Hey, no misrepresentation taken… I am unhappily married- a lonely state of affairs. I am also in love with a different woman, a married woman. It’s a crazy life we live in. I’m just another nutter. Never actually thought anyone would read my scribbles.

        lonelyyorkshireman

        April 2, 2011 at 9:38 PM

  3. How did you get into that mess, ya nutter? (smiley face goes here so as not to offend) I don’t know how to do that stupid smiley face.

    Well, you underestimate your scribblings. I like the rhythm of your rhyme. I think your nutty life is giving you great inspiration. Ah, the cost of inspiration. Good luck with everything.

    Unga Bunga Girl

    April 3, 2011 at 12:12 AM

    • Oh let’s just say that life is like the weird kid in class, never talking to anyone while petting a dead rat he carries in his lunchbox.

      My life is interesting, frustrating, fun and an absolute pain at the same time… so yeah, just a bog standard nutter. 🙂

      lonelyyorkshireman

      April 3, 2011 at 8:35 AM

      • That is seriously whacked and funny. For me, life is no longer a box of chocolates or a bowl of cherries. I’m definitely going with rat boy. You really are a nutter.

        Unga Bunga Girl

        April 4, 2011 at 1:53 AM


Leave a Reply

